further tales in misplaced mattress saga..

Current Sleeping Status: still room for two on our glorified life raft.

Two days after the first air mattress puncture, there was a second puncture. But thanks to my self taught methods finding and patching leaks – I’m really good at holding things under water till bubbles appear, and then sealing them shut forever – fixing the second leak was pretty easy. Still irritating as fuck, but an easy irritating fuck.

And now, there is no sign of our real mattress. I’ve called Atlas, I’ve been calling Atlas, but to be honest, I don’t see the point of calling Atlas. They never have any information for me, and all they want to do is get me off of the phone as quickly as possible without hanging up on me.

“We’ll call you back tomorrow.”

“Jamie is working on that for you, but they went home for the day, so I’ll have them call you tomorrow.”


I called Atlas Van Lines last Thursday, December 4th, to ask wtf, and I got the feeling that they were sheepish about the whole thing – but that might have been the Southern/Indiana accents? I was informed that our mattress was in a storage facility, in Vermont of all places, and that I would be called the very next day with an update.

I spent all Friday and the weekend wondering where the fuck Vermont is and not receiving a single phone call. So I called them Tuesday, the 9th, and was told that some other employee had taken over the claim/account, but they had gone home for the day and would call me the next day. I was also told that the last note on the account was on Dec 2nd stating that it was at a warehouse.

Meaning, it’s still in Vermont.


Of course the new person taking care of my problem didn’t call me back yesterday. So I had to call Atlas this morning and was passed over to a supervisor that yet AGAIN deferred with a “I will call you back this afternoon”.

I was mistaken with my assessment of sheepish. They’re not sheepish, they’re just shitty.

Which is odd, because we haven’t paid them a single penny. Why does no one want my money? The moving company, my rental building, no one wants my money.

So far there’s still room for two on our glorified life raft.. For today at least. I wonder if Atlas’ property insurance covers marriage counseling? A month of sleeping on a glorified life raft really puts the test to a relationship, doesn’t it?

Leave a comment